MMPCDC Announces 5 Nominees & 5 Primary Candidates for the November 5, 2024 Local Elections

Written on:April 25, 2024
Comments are closed

In the aftermath of the April 4th candidate-filing deadline for Virginia’s June 18, 2024 primary elections, the Manassas and Manassas Park City Democratic Committee (MMPCDC) has certified 10 individuals for meeting all requirements to seek the Democratic nomination for a local office in the Cities of Manassas or Manassas Park.

In each city, the office of mayor plus three city council seats will be on the November 5, 2024 General Election ballot. 

Because five candidates have successfully filed to be a Democratic nominee for the three Manassas City Council seats up for election this year, those three nominees will be selected by the voters in the June 18 Democratic primary.  The five candidates seeking that nomination are incumbents Tom Osina and Mark Wolfe and first-time candidates Ashley Hutson, Anthony McGhee, and Samantha Tungul. Early voting for the June 18 primary begins on Friday, May 3.

Our May 15 monthly meeting will feature a forum to learn more about these five candidates who are competing for the 2024 Democratic nomination for three Manassas City Council seats.

The remaining five local nomination slots—for Manassas or Manassas Park mayor and for the three available seats on the Manassas Park Governing Body—were uncontested, so the five candidates who have successfully filed for those nominations are now our official Democratic nominees.

In Manassas, Mayor Michelle Davis-Younger is already our nominee as she seeks her second mayoral term. A lifelong Manassas resident, human resource professional, and small business owner, Michelle will continue to constructively tackle the issues and challenges that face her city.  Michelle was a council member for two years before her first mayoral election in 2020.

In Manassas Park, Alanna Mensing is our nominee for Mayor.  Alanna currently serves as Vice Mayor and is vying to step into the shoes of the current mayor, Jeanette Rishell, who will retire at the end of this year.  Alanna was elected to the Governing Body in 2018 and 2022 and previously served on the Manassas Park School Board.

Yesy Amaya, Darryl Moore, and Stacy Seiberling are our three Democratic nominees for the Manassas Park City Council.  Incumbents Amaya and Moore are both seeking their second terms, whereas Seiberling is a first-time candidate who presently serves on the Manassas Park School Board. All three are dedicated to alleviating the tax burden for Manassas Park residents, by reducing debt, augmenting city revenue, and empowering economic growth.

Yesy Amaya fosters communication and outreach to strengthen community bonds and supports local businesses to promote economic growth and resilience.

Darryl Moore, who served previously on the Berkeley, California City Council for 12 years, is focused on financial resources to enhance streets, schools, and city infrastructure.

Stacy Seiberling, a 24-year resident of Manassas Park with decades of volunteer service, offers a wealth of local government leadership and a track record of employing effective strategies for community service.

In addition to the contested Manassas City Council nominations discussed above, Democratic primary voters in both cities will help select the Democratic nominee for Virginia’s 10th Congressional District (CD-10) to succeed Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton in the U.S. House of Representatives.  The following twelve Democrats are competing for that nomination: Adrian Pokharel, Atif Qarni, Dan Helmer, David Reid, Eileen Filler-Corn, Jennifer Boysko, Krystle Kaul, Marion Devoe, Mark Leighton, Michelle Maldonado, Suhas Subramanyam, and Travis Nembhard.

This Prince William Times article briefly describes every CD-10 primary candidate.

View Manassas City’s sample ballot for the June 18, 2024 Democratic Primary

View Manassas Park’s sample ballot for the June 18, 2024 Democratic Primary

The June 18, 2024 Republican Primary will select the GOP nominees for U.S. Senate (opposing Senator Tim Kaine, our Democratic nominee) and for Virginia’s 10th Congressional District but will not include any local Manassas or Manassas Park races. Since Virginia voters are not registered by political party, any registered voter may vote in either the Democratic or Republican Primary Election, but not both.